What I bought during the Steam Indie Spring Sale


capsule_lg

What I bought during the Steam Indie Spring Sale

When I found out that there was a Steam sale occurring while I was at PAX East my first reaction was to fall to my knees and sob into the concrete floor of the expo hall. When I finally got home and discovered that the sale was week long and not just for the weekend though I was overjoyed. These are the games I added to my steam library and will never get around to actually playing:

1)      Guns of Icarus Online

Guns of Icarus Online is a multiplayer game where four player teams work together to pilot an airship and battle the opposing teams’ airships. I love the idea of a team game that revolves around players contributing to one collaborative effort rather than just having a bunch of self-sufficient rambos hopping around and screaming at each other for stealing kills. The premise seems to mirror that iconic motto of teamwork evoked by the movie Drum Line, “One band! One sound!” One crew! One airship!

2)      Afterfall Insanity: Extended Edition

I was skeptical about Afterfall Insanity at first but the dark post-apocalyptic atmosphere evoked by the trailer eventually won me over. Afterfall Insanity was a kickstarter funded game that came out in 2011 to rather mediocre reviews but the consensus afterwards seems to be that the improvements made in the extended edition made it into a pretty great game. On top of that, the game was released on Steam due to the Steam Greenlight program. If the game had enough support to make it through Steam Greenlight, that many people must like and support it for some reason right?

3)      No Time to Explain

“I Am You From The Future! No Time To Explain, Follow m-OH CHRIST!” is how No Time to Explain begins. It’s a comedy platformer that looks like my kind of wacky.

4)      Puddle

I kept seeing this over and over on the front page of Steam for a few months now and have been curious about it. It’s a game where you maneuver a puddle of some kind of liquid by tilting the environment. I don’t know if it’s a puzzle game or a platformer but I do know that it certainly looks unique.

5)      Bit.Trip Runner

I’ve never played a Bit.Trip game before but I’ve seen the Bit.Trip Runner character make cameo appearances in other indie games (most notably Super Meat Boy.) I figured it was time I saw why these other indie developers thought Bit.Trip Runner was cool enough to feature in their own games.

6)      Bit.Trip Beat

I am a victim of brand marketing

7)      Air Buccaneers

Woah, woah, woah, another multiplayer airship battling game? Is this becoming the hit new gaming trend? I figured I might as well check out Guns of Icarus Online’s competition while I dive headfirst into this new genre. Air Buccaneers features a much more low-tech Viking theme as opposed to Guns of Icarus Online’s more sophisticated steampunk setting. Imagine Viking longboats + hot air balloons and a lot of rope.

8)      Thomas Was Alone

Thomas Was Alone is an indie platformer that people who’ve played it seem to go crazy for. Supposedly it proves that you don’t need amazing graphics and cinematics to tell a great story in a videogame. When someone told me that they never cried so much over a bunch of rectangles I knew I had to check it out.

What did you pick up during the Steam Indie Spring Sale? Why did you decide to take a chance on some of the games you picked up? Did it pay off? Let me know in the comments.

One thought on “What I bought during the Steam Indie Spring Sale

  1. I’ve been surfing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

