3 weeks, no accidents!


I think I’m starting to get the hang of this whole blogging thing. We have officially had 3 weeks with regular updates and this Friday will mark the first full month of steady content, exciting stuff isn’t it? I wasn’t too happy with the Omerta review but I promised you folks I would have it out that Monday, polished or not so there it is. I’ve always been a perfectionist with my writing and it’s really handicapped me a lot of my life. I would just stare at the blank screen for hours and hours trying to think of the perfect way to word the first sentence. I would stand paralyzed, staring at the screen, even when I really needed to get it done and wound up turning countless papers in late in college because I couldn’t bring myself to just write any old slop. It has prevented me from achieving my professional and personal writing aspirations and part of the reason I started this blog was to train myself to write under a deadline. I’m trying to make revision a major part of my writing process, force marching through a first draft and really punching it up into something presentable on the second draft. The first draft is God’s work, you create something out of nothing, you pluck words from the ether and materialize it. It’s only natural for something so unnatural to be difficult. But once the words are down, the clay is brought into existence and the role becomes something far more natural to man. People have molded clay for thousands of years but I’ve yet to meet someone who could spontaneously generate the clay itself. Once I have something down to work with, I find the task of writing much more  manageable.

Still, I think that some of my perfectionist paralysis was justified, the Omerta review really wasn’t up to snuff and if I left myself to my old habits it never would of been written. But it’s a necessary failure. You have to grind through writing slop so that you can level up and start actually doing some decent writing. And it’s not always slop either. I’m very pleased with how the Deadlight review turned out and I think it’s one of my best so far. I’m starting to find a voice for my reviews I think and it’s mostly because I’ve managed to force myself to generate so much content with this blog. I tend to start my reviews with a broader commentary on gaming itself that the game being reviewed exemplifies and then tie the game into it. I don’t know if it’s a style people appreciate or if they think it detracts from the writing but that’s just the nature of artist’s courage. You put your work out there with no idea if people are going to hate it or not, but if you don’t put it out there, you’ll never know.

I really enjoyed Deadlight. I took so many gorgeous screen shots of it but many of them didn’t really tie in with what was written in the review, so I’m going to post a screen shot gallery showing them off as a supplement. Screenshots don’t do it justice though. Part of what makes it such an awesome effect is that the backgrounds are alive and animated, you have to see it in motion to appreciate it. So I’m going to do a demonstration video of the game soon and record an attempted nightmare mode run so people can see how it looks in action. My screen capture recording software stutters a lot so it won’t be the best quality but it should still be interesting.

I’ve bitten off more than I can chew gaming wise this past week. I picked up Fire Emblem: Awakening for my 3DS and have just been absorbed in it, playing it almost every waking minute. I wouldn’t say I feel overjoyed or really engaged when I play it but I just can’t seem to stop. For me the game resembles more of a slow burn, not a gusher with a flavor explosion that quickly dissipates but a hard caramel candy with a satisfying sweetness that doesn’t seem to end. I also got Borderlands 2 when it was on sale for half off on Steam this weekend, I haven’t tried it yet but I’m really excited for it. Finally, I tripped and accidentally bought two big hunks of plastic…

whoops
whoops

They were on sale I promise! For 15$ and 20$ at Tuesday Mornings. DJ Hero and Tony Hawk Ride fell into the category of games that seemed like big gimmicky fun that I would never get to try because they came with a big gimmicky price. Well take that life expectations! courtesy of Tuesday Mornings. I’ll post my impressions later on.

All these games I’ve picked up have very long play times so I’m just going to post a FREE STUFF article this Friday. I find the lighter Check This Out articles allow me to insure a constant stream of content on the blog when I’m playing through a game with a prolonged play time. Plus as much I enjoy gaming, I do need to time for my other responsibilities and the Check This Out articles allow me to keep the site updated when I’ve been too busy for much gaming.  You’re going to have to wait till Friday to find out what the FREE STUFF is but if you’re a Street Fighter or a Megaman fan you’ve probably heard of it already. I’ll be posting a playthrough video of it also.

Happy trails gamers, cya Friday. Comments and feedback appreciated.

One thought on “3 weeks, no accidents!

  1. That’s a good way to describe Fire Emblem, and I totally agree! It isn’t completely story-engrossing like other games may be, but there’s just something about it that’s very addicting. I personally love having a game like Fire Emblem to kick back with on my morning commute before coffee wires me up for work, or just before bed…it’s relaxing and great to wind down with. I suppose this is also cuz I’m no longer stressed out about dying and restarting, it’s simply become par the course. Keep it up with the posts, they are good reads 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

