Holiday Steam Sale 2012: What I’m Buying


Holiday Steam Sale 2012: What I’m buying

Happy steam sale everybody! It’s that time of year again when gamers shout for joy and wallets cry out in horror. From December 20th until January 5th, Steam will be showcasing new deals every few hours. If you have been thinking about purchasing a particular game for some time, now is your opportunity. Just keep your eyes open and you’re bound to find a moment when that game is going for less than the price of a Chipotle burrito. As for me, these are the games I’ll be looking to grab.

Deadlight

I first found out about Deadlight when I got to try a preview of it at PAX East last year. From the first glance I was psyched. Imagine a old-school Prince  of Persia game set during a zombie apocalypse.

Hotline Miami

Hotline Miami is a game I never heard of until I saw it featured on the front page of the steam store one day. It seemed interesting but I never got around to trying it. Now, nearly at the end of 2012, I’ve seen it featured on a few game of the year lists. I’ll definitely be keeping my eye out for a chance to snag this one at a good price.

Spec Ops: the Line

Spec Ops the Line is a game that I, like most people, ignored at first. After some time though, the game started to get praise for its artistic merits, implementing player choice in a way that wasn’t intrusive or obvious unlike most of the games that claim to feature player choice as a major component.  Now, months after its release, the game has inspired what is most likely gaming’s first extended written critique (177 pages) and literary analysis titled “Killing is Harmless: A Critical Reading of Spec Ops: the Line” by Brendan Keogh http://stolenprojects.com/. The game was also subjected to analysis by the always insightful video series Extra Credits http://penny-arcade.com/patv/episode/spec-ops-the-line-part-1.

Torchlight 2

The only game that out diablos Diablo, Torchlight 2 is a diablo clone that makes a better sequel to the venerable series than the recently released Diablo 3. As a fan of the first game, I’ve been wanting to get my hands on the much praised sequel for some time.

Forge

I think I’m one of the few people that actually enjoyed the multiplayer in Dark Messiah of Might and Magic. Now I see a new indie game has come out that is also described as a class based fantasy multiplayer shooter and I have to check it out. There is a certain indescribable charm that comes from competitive fantasy shooters. The clumsy dance of two melee characters swinging swords at each other, wizards serving as both medics and heavy artillery, these games are rare and usually niche, I’m hoping this game will bring a similar style with it.

Faster than Light

I’ve talked about this previously on the blog. A rogue-like starship captain simulator, I haven’t seen anything else like it.

Gemini Rue

A renowned adventure game I’ve heard about for some time. I’m too cheap to pay $20 for it but if a good enough deal comes around…

Towns

I always loved the Dungeon Keeper series as a kid, my understanding is that this is similar except you build the town over the dungeon instead of the dungeon itself.

Audiosurf

I loved the demo when I played it years ago. Now the game has created its own genre of games that convert your music library into levels to play through.

To the Moon

An artsy indie game that is supposed to be quite touching.

Symphony

Speaking of games that turn your music library into levels, this one is a shooter that does just that. I enjoyed Beat Hazard which did a similar thing but this looks much more polished

Retro City Rampage

Imagine an old-school top down grand theft auto game jam packed with 80’s pop culture references.

What are you guys looking to grab?

Leave a Reply

